Tron: Legacy REVIEW

Last Friday I saw Disney’s 3D Tron: Legacy with my friends. This is my review of it.

When Sam Flynn, the son of Kevin Flynn (brilliant video game designer who has been missing for 20 years), gets a page from his father’s decrepit office, he goes to investigate. In a hidden tunnel behind a Tron machine, Sam finds his father’s secret works. He gets sucked into the world of Tron, a futuristic utopia. He thinks he has found his father, but it is really Cluu, a corrupted clone of Kevin, that his father created to help him build the world. Cluu thrusts Sam into a vicious gladiator arena where the weapons are ‘identity disks’, lightsaber-like disks that contain all the knowledge of the owner.  He is saved by Quorra, and taken to his father’s hideout.  After Sam and Kevin’s reunion, they have to devise a plan to escape the virtual world.

I really enjoyed this movie because I love video games, and in about 95% of the movie, they were in a video game world.  The fight scenes with the lightcycles and identity disks were also great.  The wacky futuristic costumes that everyone wore was a nice touch.  The world of Tron is a futuristic, action-packed utopia, or dystopia.  Overall, I rate this movie an 8 out of 10.

*random fact:  Maine is the only U.S. state with only 1 syllable.*

This entry was posted in Movie Reviews, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Tron: Legacy REVIEW

  1. Thatgirl says:

    Great blog! I love movies, particularly scifi (or is it syfy now?). I’m definitely going to see this one. Thanks for the recommendation.

  2. Raymond Yu says:

    Haven’t seen this one, but did see the first one. It wasn’t really memorable, so hoping this one is better.

  3. Astro Jetson says:

    I saw the original Tron in a theatre in Sunnyvale in the summer of 1982. Funny how I still look the same, but Jeff Bridges has aged!

  4. Can’t wait to get this! I can feel a sick day coming so I can stay home from Uni and waste time playing this.

Leave a comment