Fortune Cookies

If you’ve ever been at a Chinese restaurant, you should be familiar with fortune cookies.  They’re little folded cookies with fortunes inside them and Chinese words and lucky numbers on the back.  The fortunes usually say something good or amuzing.  I once got one that said, “You like sports, horses, and gambling; but not to excess.”  I like sports and gambling, but I’m not so sure about horses.  That fortune should have been for my grandfather.  The fortune on the top of the picture I got today, while I’ve had the one on the bottom for a while now.  I’m not sure how many people actually eat the cookie or just go for the fortune.  My belief is that you don’t get the fortune until you eat part of the cookie, so I take at least a small bite.

Tell me what cool fortunes you’ve gotten in the comments section!  By the way, I’m not sure what to categorize this.  I put this in the Photography section because there’s a photo in this post, though I wouldn’t really consider it photography.  Also, a good chunk of my posts are in the Miscellaneous section just because I don’t know where to put them.  Tell me what you think.  Your input would be greatly appreciated.  🙂

Random Fact:  *Fortune cookies did not originate in China, but in California.*

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fortune Cookies

  1. Susan Song says:

    Jupiter City, are you reading my mind? I also have saved fortunes taped into my quotes book.
    A couple of them that I’ve saved that don’t sound cliche are: “You will show what you are capable of,” and “Your ability to find the silly in the serious will take you far.”. Categorizing as “Miscellaneous” sounds like perhaps it’s an after thought or it’s homeless? How about “Random Thoughts,” or “Tidbits,” or even “Amuse Bouche”?

  2. Fladora Felingburg says:

    AHAHAHAH i remember that fortune!

  3. I love fortune cookies! And something I didn’t know about them is that you can’t hand a fortune cookie to someone, you just pass the bowl.

  4. Raymond Yu says:

    I started a company that created misfortune cookies. We had fortunes like “You will catch a cold today” and “You will lose your keys this morning.” The company was doing well until one day, I opened a cookie and it said “Your business will fail.”

Leave a Reply

